Civic Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Committee

Meeting held on Monday, 22 April 2024 at 5.00 pm in Room 1.23 - Bernard Weatherill House, Mint Walk, Croydon CR0 1EA

MINUTES

Present: Mayor Jason Perry (Chair);

Councillor Lynne Hale (Vice-Chair);

Councillor Janet Campbell, Jason Cummings, Mohammed Islam and

Stuart King

Also Present: Adrian May, Interim Head of Democratic Services and Petra

Stephenson, Secretary

PART A

1/22 Apologies for Absence

There were none.

2/22 Disclosures of Interest

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

3/22 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

Part A & Part B Minutes of the 21st March and 24th March 2023 were

Agreed.

4/22 Recommendations - Civic Mayor and Civic Awards

Interim Head of Democratic Services, Adrian May introduced the report.

The Committee Agreed the nominee for Civic Mayor/Chair of Council for the next municipal year.

RESOLVED to:

2.3 Recommend to Annual Council the appointment for the role of Civic Mayor/Chair of Council, Councillor Kola Agboola for the municipal year 2024/25 at Council's Annual meeting and note the nomination for Deputy Chair, as agreed at this meeting.

Nominations for the Civic Honour Awards were to be considered in Part B.

5/22 Exclusion of the Press & Public

The Chair MOVED to exclude the press and public from the remainder of the meeting. This was seconded and the committee RESOLVED:

That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information falling within those paragraphs indicated in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, namely the disclosure of personal information.

Meeting ended at 5:06pm